Moving from Exchange Server to Google Mail for Windows Phone 7

As part of my organisations move from Exchange Server to Google Mail I needed to update my phone settings to sync to the Google server. To do this, from the home screen I select the right arrow at the top of the screen:

clip_image001

Then selected Settings:

clip_image001[4]

Finally, select email & accounts –> Outlook.

My existing settings have the username as my network login  id, and the server set to exchange.mycompanydomain. To switch over to using the Google Mail server, I changed the username to my email address (e.g. david_cook@mycompanydomain) and changed the server to m.google.com. After saving I received an alert “Action Required” on the email & accounts screen. Selecting the Outlook account I was prompted to “Update your password for m.google.com and press Save” after re-entering my password the account showed “Synchronising”. and my emails are now syncing via Google Mail.

Leave a Reply

